The 12 Federal Reserve District Banks form the operating arms of the Federal Reserve’s (the Fed’s) central banking system. By dividing the “central” bank into numerous regions, the Fed is decentralized, ensuring that all political, economic and regional interests are taken into account and represented.

See how and why the Fed is designed to remain apolitical.

Related articles:

Real Estate Economics: Realty Almanac 2016; Factor 18: Monetary policy