Owners-by-foreclosure, heads up: changes ahead on the 90-day notice to quit
Code of Civil Procedure §1161c
Amended by S.B. 825
Effective date: January 1, 2013
To evict a holdover tenant, an owner-by-foreclosure must deliver a 90-day notice to quit due to foreclosure. The duty to provide this extended notice was to sunset on January 1, 2013. This law extends that duty through December 31, 2019. [See first tuesday Form 573 and 573-1]
Related article: Residential tenants, foreclosure and possession
The language of the notice has been updated. Updates are shown in bold:
If you cannot afford an attorney, you may be eligible for free legal services from a nonprofit legal services program. You can locate these nonprofit groups at the California Legal Services Internet Web site (www.lawhelpca.org), the California Courts Online Self-Help Center(www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp), or by contacting your local court or county bar association.